CoEPP Director elected as Chair of the International Committee for Future Accelerators (ICFA)

ICFA was established in 1976, by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP), with a brief to facilitate international collaboration in the construction and use of accelerators for high energy physics. It has been highly influential in the field of high-energy physics, with key members typically laboratory directors and other senior representatives selected primarily from the regions most deeply involved in high-energy physics research.

The ICFA Chair is a three-year appointment and the role has always been filled by a major laboratory director.

Prof Taylor's appointment provides an important opportunity for Australian particle physics and comes at a time where both Japan and China have very advanced proposals for hosting and constructing new high-energy accelerators. His term begins in 2018.

From everyone at CoEPP, we congratulate our Director on this prestigious appointment. 

Thu, 31 Aug 2017