The operation of the Centre is managed through a set of committees and management teams. The organisational structure is designed to support a focused, coordinated program; and to sustain the ability to deliver the sought after change over an extended period.

Operation and Management

CoEPP organisational chart

The Centre management structure comprises of the Director, Professor Geoffrey Taylor and Associate Director Professor Anthony Thomas. The Centre is also managed by the Node Directors who manage local issues at each of the four Nodes of the Centre. The Centre Executive Committee comprises the above members who meet monthly throughout the year. Four face-to-face meetings are held during the year, one each at of the Nodes while the remainder are held by teleconference to ensure as wide participation as possible in consideration of the varied travel schedules of the members of the Executive team.
A Centre Manager supports the Director and the Executive team and oversees administrative, IT, outreach, and communications support for the Centre.
The Centre Manager also works with Node Directors to assure the proper flow of accounting information between the Centre and the Nodes. Financial statements are generated quarterly and financial reports are presented annually to the Board, with interim statements at the half-yearly meetings.

Two other key roles within the Centre comprise Outreach and Communications, and Research Computing. Outreach activities include School visits by Centre researchers and students, specific programs such as the International Masterclass and work experience weeks for high school students, and the Centre’s “Collision” program highlighting the fusion of art and science. The Centre Research Computing facility enables the Centre to maintain its pledge to the Worldwide LHC Computing Grid (WLCG) through the provision of Tier 2 compute facilities to the ATLAS experiment and also to provide local analysis support for the Centre’s experimental researchers and students.


Executive Committee

Professor Geoffrey Taylor

Adelaide Node Director
Professor Anthony Thomas
Associate Director
Professor Anthony Thomas
Melbourne Node Director
Professor Ray Volkas
Monash Node Director
Associate Professor Csaba Balazs
Centre Manager
David Varvel
Sydney Node Director
Associate Professor Kevin Varvell


Professor Jeremy Mould - Swinburne University of Technology
Ordinary Members

DVC (Research), University of Melbourne, represented by Professor Karen Day

DVC (Research), University of Adelaide, represented by Professor Sandy Steacy

DVC (Research), University of Sydney, represented by Professor Michael Thompson

DVC (Research), Monash University, represented by Professor Michael Morgan

Dr Adi Paterson - Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)

Ms Sarah Brooker - Science in Public

Professor Bruce McKellar - University of Melbourne  (Ex-officio)
Professor Anthony Thomas - University of Adelaide (Ex-officio)

International Advisory Committee

Professor Rolf-Dieter Heuer Director-General, CERN, Switzerland
Professor John Ellis

King’s College, UK & CERN, Switzerland

Professor Hiroaki Aihara

Vice President, University of Tokyo & Assoc. Director, IPMU, Japan

Professor Peter Jenni

University of Freiburg, Germany & CERN, Switzerland  

Professor Young-Kee Kim

University of Chicago, U.S.A


The Australian Research Council (ARC) is a statutory authority within the Australian Government's Innovation, Industry, Science and Research portfolio. The ARC advises the Government on research matters, manages the National Competitive Grants Program, a significant component of Australia's investment in research and development, and has responsibility for the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) initiative.

The ARC's mission is to deliver policy and programs that advance Australian research and innovation globally and benefit the community.

In seeking to achieve its mission, the ARC supports the highest-quality fundamental and applied research and research training through national competition across all disciplines, with the exception of clinical medicine and dentistry. In addition, the ARC brokers partnerships between researchers and industry, government, community organisations and the international community.


Attendees at the 2014 International Advisory Committee meeting in Freiburg. Left to right: Dr Christian Weiser, Prof Karl Jakobs, Dr Karsten Koeneke, Prof Chiara Meroni, Prof Rolf Heuer, Dr Antonio Limosani, A/Prof Kevin Varvell, Mr David Varvel, Prof Tony Williams, Prof Peter Jenni, Dr Ulrich Parzefall, Prof Geoffrey Taylor, Dr Teng Jian Khoo.